Sunday, November 7, 2010

Nine Worlds of Norse Mythology Revealed!

Of the nine worlds in Norse Mythology, Asgard is on the highest level, with Alfheim to the east and Vanaheim to the west. The Prose Edda states that Midgard is the center of Ginnungap, an area of eleven rivers and frozen wasteland.

It is Midgard ( Earth,where man lives) that ties together all the other worlds. On the same level as Midgard is Svartalfheim to the south, Nidvellir to the east, and Jontunhiem to the west. Below Midgard lie Hel and Nifleheim. 

The Aesir gods live in Asgard, the Vanir in Vanaheim, and the Light Elves in Alfheim or Ljosalfheim (Light Elf-World).

Asgard is situated on an island in the middle of a broad dark rive which flows up through Yggdrasil from Hvergelmir. Around Asgard is a high wall. The flames of the boiling river lap the base of the wall, thus making Asgard impossible to enter except  through Odin's mighty gate.

In the middle of Asgard is Valaskjalf, the Court of Judgement or High Thingstead of the Gods. Here they discuss and decide their private affairs. The great hall is roofed with silver and all the walls are overlaid with burnished gold. Odin's great throne is here, with twelve golden seats around it for the other gods to sit in judgement with him.

Vingolf (Abode of Friends) is the beautiful sanctuary, as well as the private Thingstead, for the Goddesses in Asgard.

Also in Asgard is a smithy where the Elf-smiths, or Dwarves, such as Ivaldi's sons and Sindri's kinsmen, work in fine metals, making all kinds of implements and objects for the Gods.

(More to come, Migard, Hel and Niflheim)

Brightest of Blessings,

No comments:

Post a Comment